Midlothian Sports Awards 2014

Midlothian Sports Awards 2014

Well done to our Sports Awards winners

Sensational local sports stars were recognised at the annual Midlothian Sports Awards on Friday 24 October.

Provost Joe Wallace presented prizes to the winners:

Senior Sports Personality
Michelle Moran (Swimming)

Junior Sports Personality
Dana Purves (Karate) winner

Rachel Law – Rugby (highly commended)
Caitlin O’Brien – Trampoline (highly commended)

Senior Team
Penicuik Athletic JFC (Football)

Junior Team
Lasswade U-15 girls (Football) Winners

Haughey MacAuley U-19 Irish Dancing Team (highly commended)

Coach of The Year
Colin Leslie (Badminton)

Volunteer of The Year
Steven Costello (Football)

Mark Billingham Rugby - (highly commended)

Service To Local Sport
Eleanor Dalgetty (Hockey)

The Provost said: "A huge congratulations to all the Midlothian Sports Awards 2014 winners. It’s truly inspiring to listen to the stories of each of them. What comes across is their dedication, passion and enthusiasm for their chosen sport along and support for others. I have no doubt that many of those honoured will go on to make careers of sport in the future. Well done to everyone.”

Junior Sports Personality winner Dana Purves said she was shocked and delighted to win. She added: "Especially when I saw who else was in my category. My mum and dad are very proud of me."

The annual awards, which are organised by Midlothian Council, honour sporting superstars of all ages.