GEITF: Winners of the Channel of the Year Award!

Dara O Brian

ITV has been named as Channel of the Year at this year’s Edinburgh International Television Festival.

The award was presented at the 12th annual Channel of the Year awards, hosted by Dara O Brian. ITV champed the prize after BBC 2 won the award last year.

The New Program Award went to ITV for its popular detective series Broadchurch, which is set to return for its second season. Creator and Writer Chris Chibnal was named Industry Standout Talent of the Year.

Other winners at the GEITF 2013 Channel of the Year awards include Channel 4, which bagged Channel Breakthrough honor for its disability awareness work.

Charlie Brooker’s comedy Black Mirror was voted The Network and Ones to Watch programme choice, whilst The Voice and Who Do You Think You Are? producer Wall to Wall took home Production Company of The Year.